STAR WARS:
CUSTOMIZED CARD GAME

A NEW HOPE RULES


Immediate Effect

A new type of effect card which plays at any time (like an interrupt), but stays on the table (like an effect). Immediate effects are not vulnerable to Alter, as indicated by the wording of the Alter card.

"Immune to Control"

This statement does not refer to the control phase or control of a site, but instead refers to a new card called Control which will appear in a future expansion set. (Control, like Sense and Alter, is one of the three primary Jedi powers.)

Used Or Lost Interrupt

A new type of interrupt which may be played as a used interrupt or a lost interrupt (player's choice).

Multiple Destiny Numbers

If a card has more than one destiny number, the player drawing it for destiny chooses which number to use.

"Lose 1 Force to..."

Similar to "Use 1 Force to...," except that the card may come from your hand or your Life Force and must go to your Lost Pile instead of your Used Pile.

Cumulatively

A boldfaced term used in game text to indicate that multiple copies of a card can increasingly affect the same thing. For example, Rebel Tech says, "Cumulatively adds 1 to the total of Attack Run." Three Rebel Techs would therefore add 3 to Attack Run. Conversely, the Sandcrawler in the Premiere set says, "Each Jawa at same exterior site is forfeit +1." The Sandcrawler is not cumulative, and thus a Jawa present with three Sandcrawlers is only forfeit +1, not forfeit +3. (None of the cards in the Premiere set are cumulative.)

Undercover

A special characteristic of spies activated by the card Undercover (and certain other cards). Your Undercover spy operates with unique capabilities. It has no 'presence,' but still blocks your opponent's Force drains and allows deployment of your cards to the same location. (Even Undercover droid spies provide this benefit.) An Undercover spy does not participate in battles and may not be targeted by an opponent's weapons in battle.

To indicate that your spy is Undercover, place it across the table on your opponent's side of the same site. Your Undercover spy moves during the opponent's move phase (under your control and at normal use of your Force). An Undercover spy can board an opponent's starship or vehicle if there is sufficient capacity; however, the opponent has the first chance to fill that capacity. If your Undercover spy is a pilot, it can operate an opponent's unpiloted starship.

Despite being on the opponent's side of a location and moving like one of your opponent's characters, your Undercover spy is still your character, and is affected as one of your characters.

If your spy's "cover is broken," it loses all Undercover-related cards and immediately crosses to your side of the table (at the same site). During your deploy phase, your spy may voluntarily "break cover" if at a site.

The game text of the two Undercover cards had "(Immune to Alter)" inadvertently omitted. Thus, these cards have errata adding this phrase.

Capturing Characters

Several Dark Side cards allow characters to be captured, and there are various ways for the Light Side to rescue (release) captives. A captured Light Side character is placed beneath the Detention Block Corridor site (as if held prisoner in one of the cells). Therefore, without this site in play, characters may not be captured by the Dark Side.

Captives are not considered to have 'presence' and thus do not participate in battles. They cannot be targeted by weapons or most Utinni Effects and cannot have new cards deployed on them. Any cards already deployed on a captive are turned face down and cannot be used (if the captive is released, turn the deployed cards face up again).

Captured characters are still "in play." Released captive(s) are normally moved to the Light Side of the table at the release site. In rare cases (e.g., with the Spice Mines Of Kessel), it may not be possible to move a released character to the Light Side of the table. In such cases, the character goes to the Used Pile instead.

Tractor Beaming

Tractor beaming allows the Dark Side to seize a Rebel starship and "pull it aboard." A captured starship is placed beneath the card on which the tractor beam is deployed. The Light Side no longer controls the captured starship and cannot deploy any new characters there. A captured starship with no characters aboard is immediately 'stolen' and relocated to the Dark Side of the related system.

If there are characters aboard, they are trapped (not 'captured'). The Besieged card allows Dark Side characters on the Star Destroyer or in Docking Bay 327 to battle the trapped characters. This works like a battle at a site. If the Light Side characters are eliminated (which might take several turns), the Dark Side immediately 'steals' the starship. A permanent pilot is conceptually replaced by a Dark Side permanent pilot. Any cargo becomes 'stolen' property, usable by the Dark Side.

Each tractor beam may be used once per battle, but from turn to turn might capture and hold multiple starships.

On a Star Destroyer: If the Dark Side characters present on the Star Destroyer are eliminated, the captured starship is released and immediately relocated to the Light Side of the related system.

On the Death Star: The characters on the captured starship can relocate to Docking Bay 327 for free, but only if the Light Side controls the docking bay. (If all characters abandon the ship, it is immediately 'stolen' by the Dark Side.) Characters at the Docking Bay cannot go aboard the captured starship.

If the Light Side has one group of characters in the docking bay and another group trapped on the starship, these two groups may not combine when Besieged is played. The Dark Side may initiate a battle against one group or the other, but not both on the same turn. Similarly, the Light Side cannot battle the Dark Side with both groups on the same turn but must choose which group will initiate the battle.

Creatures

The Dianoga is the first of a new card type called 'creature.' Creatures have no ability, and thus no 'presence.' They cannot Force drain and do not participate in battles.

Creatures may deploy and move only within their 'habitat' (as defined on the card). Neither 'presence' nor Force icons are required for deployment. Creatures normally have a landspeed of 1 (like characters), but they have an automatic way of moving that simulates hunting for food. If there are one or more potential 'meals' (non-droid characters or other creatures) present, the creature does not move. Conversely, if there are no potential meals present, the creature must move (if possible) at the beginning of its owner's move phase. The player controlling the creature moves it one site in either direction for free (habitat permitting). Creatures are moved one at a time.

Creatures attack using their 'ferocity' number. Creatures can be targeted by any character weapon, targeting "defense value" rather than ability (unless otherwise specified, creatures are targeted as if they were characters). Their defense value is always in the same place on each card, but is given a different name (such as 'slither,' 'scales' etc.) appropriate to the specific creature.

Creatures Attacking: If at any time two creatures are at the same location they immediately attack each other. Their ferocity numbers are compared. The creature with the lower ferocity number is immediately eaten (lost). If there is a tie, both creatures are lost.

If at the start of any battle phase a creature is at the same site as one or more non-droid characters, it automatically attacks. If there are non-droid characters present on both sides, the creature will attack the side which has the most. If both sides have the same number, the owner may choose which side to attack. The character to be attacked is selected randomly (pick up the available candidates and have the opponent draw one without looking). The creature's ferocity is compared to the character's power (plus one destiny if the character has 4 or more ability). If ferocity > power, the character is eaten (lost).

Creatures Being Attacked: During your battle phase, your characters may attack a creature where you have 'presence' (all your characters there participate in this attack). This is not considered to be a battle, although you may not initiate a battle and an attack at the same location in the same turn. Use 1 Force to initiate the attack. Characters may fire their weapons at the creature (at normal use of the Force). If the creature is 'hit,' it is immediately lost. Otherwise, calculate your total power (including one destiny if you have 4 or more ability present). If total power > ferocity + defense value, the creature is lost.

An attack works just like a battle for the power calculation of your characters, but no Force is lost by either player as a result.

Brainiac

Brainiac has a destiny of pi. If you are confused about how to use this destiny number, listen to the words of Brainiac himself: "One cannot do less than is required, nor more than is allowed."

Brainiac counts as a card in hand when computing his own deployment cost. He may function as an astromech on a starship as a passenger, but cannot fit as an astromech droid.

URoRRuR'R'R

Counts as a Tusken Raider, so the total power of URoRRuR'R'R and three Tusken Raider cards is 10.

If you are confused about how to use this card, listen to the words of URoRRuR'R'R himself: "URoRr ruurr rR'o RR'uu'urR Rur'o, RUrr'R RoR'Urr U'U'Ur's ur!"

Squadrons

Squadron is a new class of starship card. A squadron deploys (for free) by replacing three starfighters at the same location. The three starfighters and all cards deployed on them go to their owner's Used Pile except for characters, weapons and devices, which may transfer to the squadron (for free, capacity permitting). The squadron may carry up to three copies of each appropriate starfighter weapon and device, but may not use more than three weapons and three devices per turn.

A squadron is considered to be one starship card. It moves and is targeted as if it were one starfighter but otherwise is not considered a starfighter (e.g., a squadron cannot perform Attack Runs).

A squadron requires three pilots to use power and maneuver (plus three astromechs to use hyperspeed).

Sandcrawler Interiors

These two sites are examples of a new card type called "vehicle site." For convenience, a vehicle site is played by itself on the table; however, it is related to one particular vehicle (which must be specified at the time of deployment) and is considered to be adjacent to the planet site wherever the related vehicle is currently located. The vehicle interior is nevertheless a separate site; any cards at the interior are not present at the adjacent site. To move the vehicle, a driver is required to be actually on the vehicle card, not at the interior site.

Movement to and from a vehicle site is free for the owner. The opponent, however, has a movement cost as stated on the card. If the vehicle is destroyed, the vehicle site and all cards located there are lost.

Dejarik Rules

Two 'holosite' cards (Imperial Holotable and Dejarik Hologameboard) enable you to play a "side game" using dejarik and hologram cards. A holosite is placed by itself on the table and is never adjacent to any other site. Holosites allow dejariks and holograms to deploy and battle there as if they were characters. However, they are not characters and are not targetable as characters, interrupts or effects. . .they are dejariks and holograms!

Vehicles, characters, starships, Utinni Effects etc. cannot be deployed or moved to a holosite. Only dejarik and hologram cards can exist at a holosite.

When you deploy a dejarik or hologram card to a holosite, use its destiny number as its deploy, forfeit, power and ability numbers. While at the holosite, the card's normal game text is inactive. A unique hologram at the holosite prevents another copy of that card from being played.

Battles at holosites are similar to battles at other sites (including destiny draws and attrition if you have 4 or more ability present). If you control the holosite, you may Force drain there and you may also return any dejarik/hologram cards there to your hand at any time.

Bluff Rules

When playing the Dark Side, you may enhance your Force drains at the Tatooine: Bluffs site by playing one card from your hand (face down) on your side of the site. This card is called a "bluff card." You may play one bluff card per turn, during any phase.

Each bluff card allows the Dark Side to cumulatively add 1 to Force drains there if the Dark Side controls the site. The Light Side can choose at any time to turn over a bluff card. If it is a character, it immediately deploys at the Tatooine: Bluffs for free. If it is not a character, it is lost and the Dark Side loses 2 Force.

Bluff cards are not considered to be in play. A bluff character to be deployed must still obey normal deployment restrictions. If not a legal deployment, the card is lost, though the player does not have to lose the additional 2 Force.

The Revolution card has no effect upon the Tatooine: Bluffs site. Expand The Empire, however, implements Bluff Rules upon the adjacent site locations. If Expand the Empire is subsequently lost, all bluff cards at the adjacent sites are also lost.

Trench Rules

The Death Star: Trench is an exterior mobile site with some special properties. It must deploy next to the Death Star system as shown below.

trenchrules.gif (8515 bytes)

Players may not deploy or move any cards to the trench unless a specific card allows them to do so (e.g., Attack Run, Maneuver Check and the Death Star: Trench itself).

The Death Star System

The Death Star is the first of a new type of system card called "mobile system." Unlike planet systems, mobile systems can move, and define their own parsec number.

When the Death Star system is deployed, its initial parsec number (indicated by X on the card) is 0. Using its hyperspeed of 1, you may move the Death Star system once each turn during your move phase. For example, on one turn you might move it from parsec 0 to parsec 1 (even if there is not another system on the table at parsec 1). On your next turn, you could move it to parsec 2 or back to parsec 0.

At each parsec number, the Death Star system is either in deep space or 'orbiting' a planet system (on the table) which has the same parsec number. Each time the Death Star system is moved, the Dark Side player must specify whether it is in deep space or orbiting a particular planet. For example, if the Death Star system moves to parsec 2, and both Alderaan and Kiffex are on the table, the Dark Side player must specify whether the Death Star system is orbiting Alderaan, is orbiting Kiffex or is in deep space.

Moving the Death Star from deep space to orbit a system at the same parsec is a regular move and requires 1 Force. Even if orbiting another system location, the Death Star is itself a separate system location. Remember that cards may only be present at one location at a time, so starships at the Death Star cannot control the orbited system.

Light Side and Dark Side starships move to, deploy to and control the Death Star system as normal (even though there is no Light Side game text), although normal deployment restrictions must still be obeyed. If the Death Star is orbiting a planet, starships at the planet system can move to the Death Star system and vice versa at normal use of the Force (even without hyperdrive). When the Death Star system moves, all cards there (starships, pilots, effects etc.) are considered to be moved along with it automatically.

Shuttling to and from a starship at the Death Star system can only occur via Docking Bay 327. The Death Star system is not a starship, and cannot be targeted as such.

Epic Event Cards

"Epic event" is a new category of cards representing events that could lead to great disturbances in the Force. Commence Primary Ignition and Attack Run allow you to "blow away" planets and the Death Star, respectively.

"Blown Away"

If a system is "blown away," starships at that system survive but all the related locations and all cards at those locations are lost. If you blow away your opponent's Rebel Base (Yavin 4 or Hoth) or Death Star, not only are the cards lost, but your opponent also suffers Force damage. In this case, your opponent must lose Force equal to twice the number of their Force icons present on the destroyed locations.

To mark a location's destruction, turn the card face-down; you may look at it at any time to verify the parsec or marker number. The epic event card is lost. Cards can still deploy to, move to and move from the destroyed location. However, it no longer has Force icons and its game text may no longer be utilized. The location may not be re-deployed (converted) and no related locations may be deployed at that system.


Brian's Palace
http://www.wheelon.com
2007 Brian K. Smith