Dagobah Locations

The sparse population and extreme remoteness of the planet Dagobah make deployment to this system and its swampy landscape unusually difficult. The thick atmosphere makes shuttling (and the use of transport cards) impossible. Thus, special deployment and movement restrictions apply to all Dagobah locations:

Creatures and all effect types (except Utinni effects) may deploy directly to Dagobah locations, but they must obey any relevant deployment restrictions. Interrupts play normally at Dagobah.

"So, how do I get my characters and vehicles to Dagobah?" Normally you will use a card that allows this (such as You Will Go To The Dagobah System) or you will deploy your characters and vehicles elsewhere, then move them to the Dagobah system aboard a starship that can land at a Dagobah site.

Sector Locations

Sectors are a new type of location card. There will be various kinds of sectors in upcoming expansion sets, all of which will share the following features:

Asteroid Field and Big One Sectors

These two new locations are both asteroid sectors. Asteroid sectors deploy next to any planet system or another asteroid sector, as shown below. The planet system card must be on table before any asteroid sector can deploy to that system. Asteroid sectors may be inserted in any order, as long as you maintain the following pattern:

asteroidsecters.gif (4820 bytes)

At an asteroid sector, you may 'react' and make any applicable unlimited moves. However, unless otherwise specified, the only regular moves allowed at an asteroid sector are the following three new regular moves:

Asteroid sectors are 'related' to the planet system where they are deployed, but they are not considered to be part of that planet. Thus, if the planet is "blown away," the asteroid sectors remain on table.

Asteroid Rules

"You're not actually going into an asteroid field?!" "They'd be crazy to follow us, wouldn't they?"

Wherever "Asteroid Rules" are in effect, your starships are continually subject to being hit by asteroids. During each of your control phases, for each such starship:

Cave Rules

The Big One: Asteroid Cave or Space Slug Belly site is a special location which must deploy next to a Big One sector, as shown below.

sitecave.gif (4774 bytes)

Normally this location is an asteroid cave (planet site). However, when a Space Slug creature is present at the related Big One sector, the location slides next to the Space Slug and becomes a space slug belly (creature site). Cool, huh?

sitebelly.gif (5609 bytes)

When this site is a belly, starfighters may not land or take off if the Space Slug's mouth is 'closed' (as defined by the Space Slug's game text). If the Space Slug is lost, all cards in the belly are also lost and the site then slides next to the Big One, reverting to a cave. Whether the site is a cave or a belly, it is always 'related' to the Big One.

The Executor

Darth Vader's massive flagship, the Super Star Destroyer Executor, is a unique starship card. In addition to having all the capabilities of normal Star Destroyers, the Executor has its own related starship sites!

Vehicle and Starship Capacity

The capacity listed for a vehicle or starship card represents the capacity of that card's bridge (or cockpit) and cargo bay. Characters conceptually go "on the bridge" (or "in the cockpit"). Vehicles and starships conceptually go "in the cargo bay."

However, vehicle and starship sites create additional locations where characters, vehicles and starships may go without counting against the capacity of the bridge, cockpit or cargo bay. These sites are conceptually "below decks" and have unlimited capacity.

starship.gif (1447 bytes) Starship Sites

A new type of site location. Starship sites obey location deployment rules (e.g., interior/exterior sequence and insertion) and create locations aboard a starship where characters may deploy, battle and move. For convenience, each group of starship sites is placed on the table separately from other sites. However, the group is related to one particular starship (which must be specified at the time of deployment).

Sites which are related to a particular starship (e.g., Executor sites) may deploy even if that starship is not on table (just as Death Star sites may deploy when the Death Star is not on table). However, sites which work with any starship of a given type (e.g., Star Destroyer: Launch Bay) may deploy only to a starship card already on table.

Characters at a starship site are "aboard the starship" but not 'present' at the bridge. Although such characters participate normally in battles at these sites, because they are below decks they may not use their game text to enhance the starship card and they may not participate in starship battles (may not use power, ability, game text or forfeit).

The player controlling the starship may move his cards from a starship site to the related starship card (capacity permitting), or vice versa. This movement requires 1 Force per card and is a regular move.

If a starship is lost, all related sites (and cards located at those sites) are also lost.

New Deployment Restriction Symbol

Some cards have one or more diamond ( dagdiamond.gif (536 bytes) ) symbols in the card title. The number of diamonds indicates the number of copies that both players together can have on table at any given system. (There is no limitation on the number of systems where such a card may be used.) For example, the Asteroid Field card has three diamonds. Therefore, both players together are limited to a total of three Asteroid Field locations at each planet system.

yoda.gif (1347 bytes) Yoda

"Notice you will, on my card, a new icon there is, yes. Jedi Master it means, and a Light Side Force icon it includes. While on table am I, one extra Force may you activate."

jeditraining.gif (1375 bytes) Jedi Training

A powerful new feature for the Light Side in this expansion set is the ability to train characters in the Force using a new card type called Jedi test. Each time a character completes a new Jedi test, the Light Side player gains a new capability that can have far-reaching effects. Completing Jedi tests can also raise a character's ability. Attempting the Jedi tests in this expansion set involves bringing an apprentice to a mentor on Dagobah and drawing training destiny.

Each Jedi test card describes how to begin, attempt and complete the test. There are also a few special rules that apply to Jedi training:

independence.gif (1001 bytes) Independent Starships

A new group of starships which are "privately owned" and thus are neither Rebel nor Imperial. Cards that refer to "Rebel" or "Imperial" starships do not apply to independent starships.

selective.gif (1387 bytes) Selective Creatures

Many of the smaller, less ferocious creatures in the Star Wars universe are selective in their eating habits and thus do not attack their own kind. Selective creatures will attack characters or other species of creatures (those with a card title different from their own). However, selective creatures with the same card title simply ignore each other for purposes of movement and attack.

Attaching Creatures

Instead of making an attack as normal, some creatures (e.g., vine snakes and mynocks) attach themselves to a host character or starfighter. When attached, a creature does not attack anything or move on its own, but instead moves automatically with the host. Attaching creatures may be attacked by other creatures and characters (and may be targeted by character weapons) even when they are attached. If a host is 'eaten' (by any creature), all attached creatures immediately detach. If a host is lost by other means, attached creatures are lost with the host.

Vine Snakes - These creatures attach themselves to a character, gradually squeezing the life out of their victim. Vine snakes remain attached to their host even if the host moves out of the creature's habitat. However, if a vine snake detaches outside of its habitat, it is immediately lost.

Mynocks - In addition to attacking normally, these creatures can attach themselves to a starfighter and chew on the power cables ('meals'), draining power and reducing hyperspeed. (If they detach, power and hyperspeed are immediately restored.) Like other creatures, mynocks may move from site to site, but they may also move like a starfighter (e.g., landing, taking off and flying to and from sectors). Because mynocks have no hyperspeed, to move from system to system they must 'hitchhike' on a starfighter. Although mynocks may not be targeted by starship weapons, you can land your starfighter and clean them off with character weapons.

Landing Claw

A starfighter equipped with a Landing Claw may attach itself to an opponent's capital starship. To indicate that your starfighter is attached, place it across the table on the capital starship card.

Attached starfighters are 'concealed,' and thus do not participate in battles and may not be targeted by either player in any way (weapons, interrupts, Utinni effects, asteroid destiny etc.). Also, neither player may deploy cards on such a starfighter. An attached starfighter is treated as if it has no presence, but it still blocks your opponent's Force drains.

An attached starfighter automatically moves with the capital starship; it may not move on its own, nor may it be used to shuttle or transfer other cards. If the capital starship is lost, the attached starfighter is also lost.

TIE Bombers

In addition to participating in starship battles, TIE Bombers may be used in conjunction with Proton Bombs and/or the Bombing Run mobile effect card to bombard related planet sites.

Proton Bombs - Proton Bombs deploy on your bomber. They represent a full complement of firepower which can be used repeatedly in one of two different "bombing modes" depending on the type of site being targeted:

Bombing Run - This mobile effect card deploys on a non-interior site and represents the target zone for your bombers at the related system. You may change the target zone (at the start of each of your move phases) by moving the mobile effect to an adjacent site. When your bombers move to the target zone, they have presence at the site (e.g., they may block opponent's Force drains) and they may participate in battles there, even if they do not carry Proton Bombs.

When a TIE Bomber begins a Bombing Run by moving to a site, this is a regular move which requires 1 Force. The return trip to the system is a second regular move which also requires 1 Force.

Orbital Mines

In a future expansion set, TIE Bombers will be able to deploy and defuse Orbital Mines.

"Card Type"

Whenever game text on a card uses the specific phrase "card type" (e.g., Hiding In The Garbage), such references refer to the icons used in the upper left-hand corners of the cards. Sites, systems and sectors, which have no upper left-hand icon, share the card type of "location."

Where's Boba Fett?

Most of the bounty hunters (and their starships and weapons) seen in The Empire Strikes Back appear in this expansion set. Boba Fett makes his debut in the Star Wars™ Customizable Card Game™ First Anthology™ as a white-border preview card of the black-border version coming in the Special Edition expansion set.

What's Next? The Cloud City Expansion Set

As a young apprentice trains on Dagobah, he is struck with a sudden vision: "I saw a city in the clouds..."

Brian's Palace
2007 Brian K. Smith